Arizona law allows anyone over the age of 18 to open carry and any individual over 21 to conceal carry without a permit as long as they meet other state requirements. Arizona is considered a “Shall Issue” state because it issues CCW permits but does not require them for you to conceal carry under normal circumstances.
You may be wondering why you would want an Arizona CCW if it is not necessary to carry a concealed weapon. There are many benefits to getting a CCW in Arizona, including:
A short-barreled rifle is any firearm with a buttstock and either a rifled barrel less than 16″ long or an overall length under 26″. If your weapon has a folding or collapsing stock, the overall length is measured while the stock is in the extended position.
This is one of the major reasons that a gun owner may want an Arizona CCW. While anyone over 21 can conceal carry a firearm in Arizona, this is not true when you travel out of the state. A CCW permit gives you reciprocity, meaning that you will legally be able to conceal carry in the 37 other states that honor Arizona CCW permits. This helps you protect yourself and your family even while you are travelling out-of-state.
Due to regulations from the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, and Firearms (ATF) it is usually necessary to undergo a background check when you purchase a new firearm. However, the state of Arizona waives the required background check for CCW holders as you already go through a background check to obtain this permit. This makes the process of buying a gun quicker and easier, which can be very helpful if you are an avid gun collector.
In general, you can conceal carry your weapon in Arizona without a CCW permit. However, this does not apply to every location. There are certain public areas where only CCW holders may conceal carry. These include: public parks, restaurants that serve alcohol, within 1000 feet of school grounds, and national/state parks. It’s important to note that certain regulations still apply to these locations. Your CCW class will go over these important exceptions.
Arizona is one of the states that has “Stand Your Ground” laws that allow you to use a firearm to defend yourself and your family under certain circumstances. Arizona Revised Statutes (A.R.S.) 13-404 and 13-405 outline these regulations. While you can act in self-defense without a CCW, having a CCW may help you in case you do run into legal issues while using your firearm. Your CCW class will also help you understand what does and does not fall under the legal definition of self-defense.
In order to obtain a CCW permit in Arizona, you need to meet the following requirements:
If you meet these requirements, you can take a CCW class at The Hub. This will satisfy the firearms safety training necessary to get your permit. We will then assist you with filling out the application. There is a $60 processing fee. Every five years, you will need to renew your permit. You do not need to take another course, but you will have to pay a $43 renewal fee. Another background check might be required.
The Hub is your one-stop shop for all things gun-related and this includes safety training. We offer classes where you can earn your Arizona CCW (Concealed Carry Weapon) permit. Our CCW classes are four hours long and cover the basics of gun safety. At the end of the class, we will help you submit the required information to get your CCW permit.
Are you interested in our CCW classes, MILO tactical range, pawn shop, or gun store? Fill out this form with more information about what you are looking for and what date and time you prefer. One of our friendly and knowledgable associates will call you and will find a time that works best for you to come in and see all that we have to offer. We look forward to seeing you soon!
Fill out the application to learn more about The Hub Guns
Contact us today to learn more about what we offer at The Hub, or to reserve a spot in one of our classes or with our MILO Tactical Range.